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1. Q: A deep pass falls incomplete and the disc rolls out-of-bounds and then 
curves back onto the field coming to rest in the central zone. What is the 
maximum time after the disc comes to rest must the team becoming offense put 
the disc into play? 

A: 10 seconds 
B: 30 seconds 
C: 15 seconds 
D: 20 seconds 
 

COR R ECT ANSWER: D 
 
EXPLANATION: The disc becomes out-of-bounds when it rolls out-of-bounds as it is 
contacting an out-of-bounds area (10.E). If the disc is out-of-bounds or comes to rest 
in the end zone, a member of the team becoming offense must put the disc into play 
within twenty seconds after it comes to rest. 
 
 
2. Q: In a game to 15, Team A is leading 14-13. The soft cap horn blows, and 

Team B scores to tie it at 14. Team A has used two timeouts in the second half, 
while Team B has used one. How many timeouts does each team have left? 

 
A: Team B, two; Team A, one 
B: Both teams have one timeout 
C: Team B, one; Team A, none 
D: Neither team has any remaining timeouts 
 

COR R ECT ANSWER: C 
 
EXPLANATION: There is no overtime in the 11th edition. Timeouts are not affected by 
caps. 
 
 



 

 

 
 
3. Q: In a game to 15, Team A is leading 4-3. The halftime cap horn blows, and 

Team A scores making it 5-3. What is the halftime target? 
 

A: 5 
B: 8 
C: 7 
D: 6 
 

COR R ECT ANSWER: D 
 
EXPLANATION: One is added to the higher score, five, thus six is the new halftime 
target (6.C.3). 

 
 
4. Q: Within how long after the previous goal was scored must the receiving team 

signal readiness? 
 

A: 55 seconds 
B: 60 seconds 
C: 70 seconds 
D: 85 seconds 
 

COR R ECT ANSWER: C 
 
EXPLANATION: Rule 9.C.3. Within seventy (70) seconds after the previous goal was 
scored, the receiving team must signal readiness (8.B.3). 

 
 
5. Q: True or False. The Continuation Rule has a provision that allows the involved 

players on both teams to agree that the infraction did not affect the outcome of 
the play, allowing the result of the play to stand regardless of what the 
Continuation Rule says should specifically happen. 



 

 

 
COR R ECT ANSWER: TR UE 
 
EXPLANATION: Rule 17.C.1. Despite any outcome dictated by these rules, if the 
involved players on both teams agree that the infraction did not affect the outcome of 
the play, play stops and the result of the play stands. This provision does not apply if 
the thrower is aware an infraction has been called and subsequently attempts a pass. 
 
 
6. Q: True or False. If multiple infractions occur on the same play or before play 

stops, the outcomes should be resolved in the order in which the infractions 
occurred (earliest infraction first, latest infraction last). 

 
COR R ECT ANSWER: FALSE 
 
EXPLANATION: Rule 17.H. If multiple infractions occur on the same play or before 
play stops, the outcomes should be resolved in reverse sequence (latest infraction first, 
earliest infraction last). 
 
 
 
7. Q: True or False. The marker may contest a marking violation by calling 

"violation." The Continuation Rule does not apply. 
 
COR R ECT ANSWER: FALSE 
 
EXPLANATION: Rule 15.B.9. The marker may contest a marking violation by calling 
"violation." This contest is treated as the call of an offensive violation, and the 
Continuation Rule (17.C) applies. [[It is the marker's responsibility to announce if play 
was affected for the purpose of the Continuation Rule (17.C). Generally speaking, due 
to 17.L, calls made by another player cannot be said to affect play. However, in 
limited situations for contested marking violation calls, when the marker diverts their 
attention away from marking while reasonably and quickly assessing the conditions to 
the thrower's marking violation call, the marker could determine that play was  



 

 

 
affected. For example, the thrower calls straddle, and while the marker is looking at 
their feet to assess their marking position, the thrower completes a throw around the 
marker. If the marker subsequently contests the straddle because they assessed that 
they weren't committing a marking violation, they could claim that play was affected 
and the disc should be returned to the thrower. It is the thrower's responsibility to stop 
play as soon as possible after the marker makes their call contesting the marking 
violation (20.F).]] 
 
8. Q: In mixed gender play, the team responsible for signaling the gender ratio for 

the upcoming point must do so within how many seconds after the previous goal 
was scored? 

 
A: 15 
B: 25 
C: 30 
 

COR R ECT ANSWER: B 
 
EXPLANATION: Rule 9.C.1 

 
 
9. Q: If the marker calls "travel" and the thrower has not released the disc, how 

should play continue assuming the thrower does not contest the travel? 
 

A: Play should stop. The thrower returns to the spot of the travel. The stall count 
is resumed at the count reached plus 1, or 9 if over 8. 
 
B: Play does not stop. The marker points to the spot where the travel occurred, 
and the thrower returns to that spot. The stall count is paused until the thrower 
sets a pivot where the travel occurred. The marker is not required to say 
"stalling" when resuming the count. The thrower must touch the disc to the 
ground before attempting a pass. 
 



 

 

 
C: Play does not stop. The marker points to the spot where the travel occurred, 
and the thrower returns to that spot. The stall count is paused until the thrower 
sets a pivot where the travel occurred. The marker resumes the stall count with 
"stalling" followed by the count reached plus 1, or 9 if over 8. The thrower must 
touch the disc to the ground before attempting a pass. 
 

COR R ECT ANSWER: B 
 
EXPLANATION: Rule 17.K.3.b. If the travel occurs and no pass has been attempted: 
 
1. Play does not stop. The defense (typically the marker) points to the spot where the 
travel occurred, and the thrower returns to that spot without delay. The thrower must 
touch the disc to the ground before attempting a legal pass. [[Play does not stop, but 
the disc is live, so it is still subject to a turnover (for example if the thrower drops it).]] 
 
2. The stall count is paused until the thrower sets a pivot where the travel occurred. The 
marker is not required to say "stalling" when resuming the count. The thrower must 
touch the disc to the ground before attempting a pass. [[The marker must initiate a stall 
count with the word "stalling," but resuming the count does not require the marker to 
say "stalling" again.]] 

 
 
10. Q: An offensive player, not the thrower, calls "injury." Play stops and the player 

is substituted. The defense decides to substitute the marker. The last number 
uttered by the marker before the call was "seven." At what number does the stall 
count resume? 
 
A: 1 
B: 6 
C: 8 
 

COR R ECT ANSWER: C 
 



 

 

 
EXPLANATION: Rule 7.C.3.b. Play restarts at the appropriate spot with a check and 
the marker resumes any stall count with the word stalling followed by the last number 
uttered before the injury timeout started plus one or 9 if over 8. The substitution of the 
thrower or marker does not alter the stall count. 

 
 

11. Q: True or False. An intentional infraction is not considered cheating since there 
are punishments already defined in the rules. 

 
COR R ECT ANSWER: FALSE 
 
EXPLANATION: An intentional infraction is cheating and considered a gross offense 
against the Spirit of the Game. Players are morally bound to abide by the rules and 
not gain advantage by knowingly committing an infraction, or calling one where none 
exists. (2.C) 
 
 
12. Q: Contact between opposing players that does not affect continued play. This 

is defined as ________ 
 
A: Foul 
B: Cheating 
C: Incidental contact 
 

COR R ECT ANSWER: C 
 
EXPLANATION: Rule 2.F 
 
 
 
 
 

 



 

 

 
13. Q: True or False. A disc in a player’s possession is considered part of that 

player. 
 
COR R ECT ANSWER: TR UE 
EXPLANATION: Rule 3.J.3 
 
 
14. Q: True or False. During a Spirit Timeout, team members are free to engage in 

tactical discussions. 
 
COR R ECT ANSWER: FALSE 
 
EXPLANATION: Rule 7.E.2.b 
 
15. Q: You are the thrower. If a line between the marker’s hands is less than one 

disc diameter away from your torso, you may call: 
 

A: "Disc space" only 
B: "Disc space" or "wrapping" 
C: "Wrapping" only 
D: "Straddle" only 
E: Nothing. This is not a marking violation. 
 

COR R ECT ANSWER: B 
 
EXPLANATION: The thrower may choose to call “disc space” for both straddle and 
wrapping violations as they are a subset of disc space violations. However, the 
thrower may also choose to call the more specific violation for clearer communication 
to the marker about what needs to be corrected. (15.B.c.3) 
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