
 

 
 

 
 

 

Rules Quiz  
 

 



 

 

 

1. Q: A deep pass falls incomplete and the disc rolls out-of-bounds and then 
curves back onto the field coming to rest in the central zone. What is the 
maximum time after the disc comes to rest must the team becoming offense put 
the disc into play? 

A: 10 seconds 
B: 30 seconds 
C: 15 seconds 
D: 20 seconds 

 
2. Q: In a game to 15, Team A is leading 14-13. The soft cap horn blows, and 

Team B scores to tie it at 14. Team A has used two timeouts in the second half, 
while Team B has used one. How many timeouts does each team have left? 

 
A: Team B, two; Team A, one 
B: Both teams have one timeout 
C: Team B, one; Team A, none 
D: Neither team has any remaining timeouts 

 
3. Q: In a game to 15, Team A is leading 4-3. The halftime cap horn blows, and 

Team A scores making it 5-3. What is the halftime target? 
 

A: 5 
B: 8 
C: 7 
D: 6 

 
4. Q: Within how long after the previous goal was scored must the receiving team 

signal readiness? 
 

A: 55 seconds 
B: 60 seconds 
C: 70 seconds 
D: 85 seconds 



 

 

 
 
5. Q: True or False. The Continuation Rule has a provision that allows the involved 

players on both teams to agree that the infraction did not affect the outcome of 
the play, allowing the result of the play to stand regardless of what the 
Continuation Rule says should specifically happen. 
 

 
6. Q: True or False. If multiple infractions occur on the same play or before play 

stops, the outcomes should be resolved in the order in which the infractions 
occurred (earliest infraction first, latest infraction last). 
 

 
7. Q: True or False. The marker may contest a marking violation by calling 

"violation." The Continuation Rule does not apply. 
 

 
8. Q: In mixed gender play, the team responsible for signaling the gender ratio for 

the upcoming point must do so within how many seconds after the previous goal 
was scored? 

 
A: 15 
B: 25 
C: 30 
 

 
9. Q: If the marker calls "travel" and the thrower has not released the disc, how 

should play continue assuming the thrower does not contest the travel? 
 

A: Play should stop. The thrower returns to the spot of the travel. The stall count is 
resumed at the count reached plus 1, or 9 if over 8. 
 
B: Play does not stop. The marker points to the spot where the travel occurred, and 
the thrower returns to that spot. The stall count is paused until the thrower sets a 
pivot where the travel occurred. The marker is not required to say "stalling" when 



 

 

resuming the count. The thrower must touch the disc to the ground before 
attempting a pass. 
 
C: Play does not stop. The marker points to the spot where the travel occurred, and 
the thrower returns to that spot. The stall count is paused until the thrower sets a 
pivot where the travel occurred. The marker resumes the stall count with "stalling" 
followed by the count reached plus 1, or 9 if over 8. The thrower must touch the 
disc to the ground before attempting a pass. 

 
 
10. Q: An offensive player, not the thrower, calls "injury." Play stops and the player 

is substituted. The defense decides to substitute the marker. The last number 
uttered by the marker before the call was "seven." At what number does the stall 
count resume? 
 
A: 1 
B: 6 
C: 8 
 
 

11. Q: True or False. An intentional infraction is not considered cheating since there 
are punishments already defined in the rules. 

 
 
12. Q: Contact between opposing players that does not affect continued play. This 

is defined as ________ 
 
A: Foul 
B: Cheating 
C: Incidental contact 

 
13. Q: True or False. A disc in a player’s possession is considered part of that 

player. 
 



 

 

14. Q: True or False. During a Spirit Timeout, team members are free to engage in 
tactical discussions. 

 
 
15. Q: You are the thrower. If a line between the marker’s hands is less than one 

disc diameter away from your torso, you may call: 
 

A: "Disc space" only 
B: "Disc space" or "wrapping" 
C: "Wrapping" only 
D: "Straddle" only 
E: Nothing. This is not a marking violation. 


	1. Q: A deep pass falls incomplete and the disc rolls out-of-bounds and then curves back onto the field coming to rest in the central zone. What is the maximum time after the disc comes to rest must the team becoming offense put the disc into play?
	A: 10 seconds
	B: 30 seconds
	C: 15 seconds
	D: 20 seconds
	2. Q: In a game to 15, Team A is leading 14-13. The soft cap horn blows, and Team B scores to tie it at 14. Team A has used two timeouts in the second half, while Team B has used one. How many timeouts does each team have left?
	A: Team B, two; Team A, one
	B: Both teams have one timeout
	C: Team B, one; Team A, none
	D: Neither team has any remaining timeouts
	3. Q: In a game to 15, Team A is leading 4-3. The halftime cap horn blows, and Team A scores making it 5-3. What is the halftime target?
	A: 5
	B: 8
	C: 7
	D: 6
	4. Q: Within how long after the previous goal was scored must the receiving team signal readiness?
	A: 55 seconds
	B: 60 seconds
	C: 70 seconds
	D: 85 seconds
	5. Q: True or False. The Continuation Rule has a provision that allows the involved players on both teams to agree that the infraction did not affect the outcome of the play, allowing the result of the play to stand regardless of what the Continuation...
	6. Q: True or False. If multiple infractions occur on the same play or before play stops, the outcomes should be resolved in the order in which the infractions occurred (earliest infraction first, latest infraction last).
	7. Q: True or False. The marker may contest a marking violation by calling "violation." The Continuation Rule does not apply.
	8. Q: In mixed gender play, the team responsible for signaling the gender ratio for the upcoming point must do so within how many seconds after the previous goal was scored?
	A: 15
	B: 25
	C: 30
	9. Q: If the marker calls "travel" and the thrower has not released the disc, how should play continue assuming the thrower does not contest the travel?
	A: Play should stop. The thrower returns to the spot of the travel. The stall count is resumed at the count reached plus 1, or 9 if over 8.
	B: Play does not stop. The marker points to the spot where the travel occurred, and the thrower returns to that spot. The stall count is paused until the thrower sets a pivot where the travel occurred. The marker is not required to say "stalling" when...
	C: Play does not stop. The marker points to the spot where the travel occurred, and the thrower returns to that spot. The stall count is paused until the thrower sets a pivot where the travel occurred. The marker resumes the stall count with "stalling...
	10. Q: An offensive player, not the thrower, calls "injury." Play stops and the player is substituted. The defense decides to substitute the marker. The last number uttered by the marker before the call was "seven." At what number does the stall count...
	A: 1
	B: 6
	C: 8
	11. Q: True or False. An intentional infraction is not considered cheating since there are punishments already defined in the rules.
	12. Q: Contact between opposing players that does not affect continued play. This is defined as ________
	A: Foul
	B: Cheating
	C: Incidental contact
	13. Q: True or False. A disc in a player’s possession is considered part of that player.
	14. Q: True or False. During a Spirit Timeout, team members are free to engage in tactical discussions.
	15. Q: You are the thrower. If a line between the marker’s hands is less than one disc diameter away from your torso, you may call:
	A: "Disc space" only
	B: "Disc space" or "wrapping"
	C: "Wrapping" only
	D: "Straddle" only
	E: Nothing. This is not a marking violation.

