# USA Ultimate Board of Directors Meeting Virtual/Via Zoom June 14, 2022

### **Directors Present:**

Isaiah Bryant (At-Large)
Harvey Edwards (Appointed)
Robyn Fennig (Elite Athlete, President)
Leslie Gamez (Independent)
Dave Klink (Appointed)
Benecia Newhouse (Independent)
Chris Novielli (At-Large)
Steve Sullivan (At-Large)
Dr. Tom Crawford (CEO)

# **Directors Not Present:**

Mike Edmonds (Independent) Angela Lin (Elite Athlete) Ernest Toney (At-Large, Secretary) Ben Van Heuvelen (Elite Athlete)

## **Staff Present:**

Andy Lee (Managing Director -- Marketing, Communications & Brand)

Julia Echterhoff Lee (Director -- Finance and Development)

Stacey Waldrup (Director -- Member Services & Community Development)

Will Deaver (Managing Director -- Competition and National Team Programs)

Meeting called to order at 5:30 pm Mountain Time.

# Agenda Items

- 1. Approve April Meeting Minutes
  - i. Leslie Gamez moves to approve the meeting minutes from the April 2022 meeting
  - ii. Isaiah Bryant seconds.
  - iii. Motion passes 8-0-4
- 2. Financial Update from Tom Crawford and the USA Ultimate staff
- 3. Programs Update from Tom Crawford and the USA Ultimate staff
  - i. Olympics update
  - ii. Marketing, Communications & Brand Staffing changes/examining program needs
  - iii. Member Services & Community Development Staffing/hiring, Color of Ultimate showcase, membership numbers

- iv. Competition & National Team Programs National teams, Medical Working Group, College Division/College Championships, Youth/YCC, Masters/Masters Nationals, Beach, Club/TCT, International schedule = MUWCC, World Games, WUCC, U20
- 4. Committee Assignments
  - i. Congratulations to Mike (new Treasurer) and Ernest (returning as Secretary)
  - ii. Bylaw—Required Committees
    - 1. Audit/Finance/Ethics
      - a. Mike Edmonds (Chair)
      - b. Robyn Fennig (EA)
      - c. Chris Novielli
    - 2. Governance & Board Development
      - a. Steve Sullivan (Chair)
      - b. Robyn Fennig (EA)
      - c. Leslie Gamez
      - d. Isaiah Bryant
    - 3. Judicial Committee
      - a. Dave Klink (Chair) (EA)
      - b. Mike Edmonds
      - c. Ernest Toney (EA)
      - d. Mandy Eckhoff Non-board member
      - e. Charlie Mercer Non-board member
      - f. Josh Seamon Non-board member
    - 4. SOAR Committee
      - a. Harvey Edwards (Chair)
      - b. Ernest Toney
      - c. Angela Lin (EA)
      - d. Benecia Newhouse
  - iii. Non-Bylaw Standing Working Groups
    - 1. Competition Working Group
      - a. Chris Novielli
      - b. Leslie Gamez
      - c. Steve Sullivan (EA)
      - d. Isaiah Bryant

Meeting adjourned by Robyn Fennig at 7:03 pm MT (Steve Sullivan move, Leslie Gamez second)