Colorado Springs, Colo. (Oct. 9, 2018) – Three athletes were recently elected as representatives of the Club Division Athletes Council by club teams who participated in this year’s Triple Crown Tour Postseason Championship Series.

In the men’s division, Andrew Francis (Atlanta Bullet) was elected for a second term on the athletes’ council after running unopposed.

Sarah Meckstroth (Minnesota Drag’n Thrust) is the lone first-time representative elected to the athletes’ council in 2018 and will represent the mixed division for the next two years. She won an instant runoff against Lauren Doyle (Connecticut Metro North), with Meckstroth accumulating 53 percent of the vote. Evelina Pierce (Atlanta Bucket), Lauren Piontek (Chicago Tequila Mockingbird) and Linda Morse (Philadelphia AMP) also ran in this year’s mixed division election.

Fifty-eight of the mixed division’s eligible teams cast votes in the election. 

Akina Younge (Seattle Underground) was re-elected as one of the two women’s division representatives with 74 percent of the vote over Angela Lin, a longtime member of Atlanta Ozone.

Thirty-eight of the eligible women’s teams voted in this year’s election.

The newly elected three representatives join incumbents Chris Novielli (Westchester Magma Bears), Isaiah Bryant (New York XIST) and Amber Sinicrope (Boston Brute Squad) as the current Club Division Athletes’ Council representatives. 

These six player-elected individuals represent teams and athletes playing in USA Ultimate’s club division structure and are responsible for broadening communication between USA Ultimate and active club division participants. They also serve as a collective voice for club division teams and athletes and provide valuable input, ideas and feedback to USA Ultimate.

The council representatives will convene in early December, as part of USA Ultimate’s annual Competition Working Group meetings. The meeting is an opportunity for in-person discussions about topics such as Triple Crown Tour guidelines, season timing, the event bid process and more. 

USA Ultimate would like to thank all of the candidates for running, as well as the teams who voted and the current council representatives for helping administer the election.