Colorado Springs, Colo. (December 14, 2022)—USA Ultimate announced today the 72 athletes that were selected to represent the United States at the 2023 World Flying Disc Federation (WFDF) World Under 24 Championships next summer.

Three teams – mixed, open and women’s – were assembled following two weekends of tryouts last month. All totaled, more than 200 players were invited to participate. The result was a deep and talented pool of the nation’s top college-aged players from which to choose.

Twenty-four players were named to each of the three teams, including six athletes that played for Team USA and won gold at last summer’s U-20 World Championships in Poland.

North Carolina, back-to-back national champions in both the men’s and women’s divisions in 2021 and 2022, is represented by the most players with nine, followed by Colorado (6) and Washington (4).

The mixed team was selected by head coach Patrick Sherlock and assistants Hannah Baranes, Lauren Boyle and Carlos Lopez.

Head coach Bob Krier and assistants David Allison, Darryl Stanley and Hector Valdivia chose the open squad.

The women’s team was picked by head coach Nancy Sun and assistants Sarah Griffith, Sarah Meckstroth and Rohre Titcomb.

The 2023 U-24 World Championships will be the sixth edition of the tournament, which began in 2010.

After forgoing the inaugural edition, Team USA has won 11 of the 12 available gold medals since. The mixed and open teams won gold in 2013, 2015, 2018, and 2019. The women’s team won gold in 2013, 2018 and 2019 and silver in 2015.   

The 2023 U-24 World Championships will take place July 1-8 in Nottingham, UK.

Mixed Team Roster

Name College
Axel Agami Contreras Ohio State
Hayden Austin Knabb Georgia
Chackgarin Brown Washington
Nicole Chan Washington
Jacob Cowan Grinnell
Ellen Cubrilovic North Carolina State
Aidan Downey Georgia
Olivia Goss Tufts
Victoria Gray Carleton
Ava Hanna UC-San Diego
Henry Ing Pittsburgh
Paul Krenik Minnesota
Sara Liang Carnegie Mellon
Kailyn Lowder North Carolina
Katrina McGuire Michigan
Alexander Merriman
Declan Miller Carleton
Cole Moore Maine
Marc Munoz
Abigail Shilts UC-San Diego
Madalyn Simko Grand Valley State
Leo Sovell-Fernandez Middlebury
Clara Stewart Northeastern
Sarah Von Doepp Vermont

Open Team Roster

Name College
Turner Allen Vermont
Nate Buchholz Colorado
Orion Cable UMass
Itay Chang Oregon
Lucas Coniaris Indiana
Calvin Brown Cal-Poly SLO
Ben Dameron North Carolina
Fred Farah Maryland
Francisco Fernandez Harvard
Leo Gordon Brown
Scott Heyman Pittsburgh
KJ Koo Cal Poly-SLO
Danny Landesman Colorado
Matthew McKnight North Carolina
Adam Miller Georgia
Felix Moren Oregon State
Jacques Nissen Brown
Kevin Pignone North Carolina
Johnny Sickles Vermont
Joshua Singleton North Carolina
Rutledge Smith North Carolina
Calvin Stoughton Colorado
Tristan Yarter Pittsburgh
Albert Yuan Duke

Women’s Team Roster

Name College
Erica Birdsong North Carolina
Rachel Chang
Dawn Culton North Carolina
Layne Dodge Drexel
Margo Donahue UC-Davis
Marguerite Downey Mount Holyoke
Alyssa Ehrhardt Carleton
Rita Feder Brown
Kira Flores Virginia
Stacy Gaskill Colorado
Chloe Hakimi
Abigail Hecko Washington
Hannah Huddleston Stanford
Emily Kemp Tufts
Kennedy McCarthy Vermont
Clil Phillips Colorado
Stephanie Phillips Washington
Laura To Bellevue
Caroline Tornquist Dartmouth
Ezra Weybright Oregon
Emma Williamson Colorado
Elsa Winslow UC-Santa Barbara
Claire Yeager Schmitt Chicago
Theresa Yu North Carolina